

### Welcome to the Buenaventura IEEE Section for

## January, 2011

OpenVPX: A system level approach to COTS Jan ComSoc

applications 11

William J. Pilaud, Curtiss-Wright Controls

6:30 p.m. at ITT-Force Protection Systems, Thousand Oaks

Identification required

More info/contact: xwang97@yahoo.com

Jan Computer Membership and 2011 Agendas/Programs Meeting

6:30 p.m. at Richter Hall (ASC 100), California Lutheran 12

University

More info/contact: Deron Johnson events@ieee-bv-cs.org

**MTTS Investigation of Collisions in Jupiter** Jan

19 Dr. Padma Fisher – JPL

6:30 pm at Ciao Wireless, Camarillo, CA

More info/contact: Momin Quddus bv\_mtts@yahoo.com

**Section Awards Dinner Section** Jan

Reviewing the year and thanking our officers and 25

volunteers

6:00 pm, Los Robles Greens Golf Course

More info/contact: Bridge Carney bcarney@ieee-bv.org

Jan **EMBS** Etaluma introduces the LumaScope; a dramatically 26

new concept in simple, inexpensive, and accessible

fluorescence microscopy Dr. Brian Rasnow

6:00 dinner and networking in Ahmanson Hall (ASC 100),

7:00 presentation across the way, both at California

Lutheran University. More info/contact:

pat.jacobs@advancedpersonnelprofiles.com

# Welcome to our new Buenaventura Section and Chapter Officers

Our new officers for the Buenaventura Section in 2011 are

- Karl Geiger, Chair
- Bridgeman Carney, Vice Chair
- Zak Cohen, Secretary
- Albert Wolfkiel, Treasurer



New chapter chairs for 2011 are

• Abigail Corrin, Chair EMBS

The Buenaventura Section is grateful for the service of the 2009-2010 Section and Chapter Officers. The Section Officers emeritus are Steve Johnson, Chair; Momin Quddus, Vice Chair; Zak Cohn, Treasurer; Jerry Knotts, Secretary; Doug Askegard, Programs and Awards. Our emeritus officers and volunteers will be celebrated at an awards ceremony January 25<sup>th</sup>.

#### **Section Membership**

In 2011, we are planning more outreach to existing and new members. Our section goal is to expand membership especially to new engineers and practitioners in our field, and to students in our local 2-year and 4-year colleges.

Our membership development officer is our Vice Chair Bridgeman Carney. Please contact him or your chapter chairs about how you can help.

#### **Member-Get-A-Member Program**

The IEEE Member-Get-a-Member (MGM) program is a peer-to-peer recruitment activity offered exclusively to IEEE members. We're pleased to recognize this month's top program participants. For program information, visit <a href="https://www.ieee.org/mgm">www.ieee.org/mgm</a>.

#### **Photonics and Power Societies**

The Section membership has expressed interest in establishing Photonics and Power Engineering chapters. If you are interested, please contact

- Jim Leatham, <u>ileatham@ALUM.MIT.EDU</u>, about the Photonics chapter
- Bridgeman Carney, bcarney@ieee-bv.org, about the PES chapter

#### **New Ways to Keep in Touch**

We also wish to help members getting and staying in touch with each other. We have some new web and email tools that we are putting in place that make it easier to post news bulletins, job information, and so forth. The Computer Society chapter has been using this system for the past year, and the Section will be moving to it as well. See

- <a href="http://www.ieee-bv-cs.org">http://www.ieee-bv-cs.org</a> (CS)
- http://www.ieee-bv.org (Section)

If you have ideas or suggestions, please contact Karl Geiger or Deron Johnson.

- Karl Geiger, 2011 Section Chair

## **Section and Chapter Officers**

G 4 080 2011	NT.	E 3.6 '1
Section Office 2011	Name	E-Mail
Chair	Karl Geiger	karl@ieee-bv-cs.org
Vice-Chair	Bridgeman Carney	bcarney@ieee-bv.org
Treasurer	Albert Wolfkiel	awolfkiel@ieee-bv.org
Secretary	Zak Cohen	zcohen@ieee.org
Program / Award Officer	Doug Askegard	dougaskegard@ieee.org
Past Chair	Steve Johnson	sfjohnso@ieee.org
Sr. Representative, LA Council	Steve Johnson (acting)	sfjohnso@ieee.org
Jr. Representative, LA Council	Albert Wolfkiel	awolfkiel@ieee.org
Section Webmaster	Karl Geiger Steve Johnson	karl@ieee-bv-cs.org sfjohnso@ieee.org

2011 Chair	E-Mail
Sunil Pai	paisunils@ieee.org
Victor Lin	Victor.S.Lin@aero.org
Craig Reinhart	reinhart@callutheran.edu
David Viveiros	david.viveiros@ieee.org
Abigail Corrin	abigailacorrin@hotmail.com
Jerry Knotts	jeknotts@roadrunner.com
Momin Quddus	mominq7@yahoo.com
Karl Meier	karlmeier@ieee.org
	Sunil Pai Victor Lin Craig Reinhart David Viveiros Abigail Corrin Jerry Knotts Momin Quddus